ETMC Foundation UT Health Medical Center Grant

Generations of East Texans impacted by inaugural grant

“At the core of a region’s vitality is its commitment to a healthy society. We have a desire and a responsibility to participate in that effort, and we hope our gift will inspire other individuals and organizations to participate.”

Elam Swann, ETMC Foundation Board Chair

Medical school grant

The ETMC Foundation announced an $80 million cornerstone grant to the University of Texas Health Center at Tyler to provide funding for creating the first medical school in East Texas. The monumental gift, announced February 12, 2020, was described as historic by local leaders. A growing physician shortage nationwide and fierce competition for medical talent spurred the founding board members of the ETMC Foundation to join the University of Texas Health Science Center in this new and exciting endeavor.

Dr. Kirk A. Calhoun, president of UT Health Science Center at Tyler, announced the gift at a press conference one week after the University of Texas Regents announced the approval of a new medical school in East Texas. According to Dr. Calhoun, “The gift will help fund faculty and staff salaries, laboratory maintenance and training with local hospitals and physicians, among other operational costs.”

Elam Swann, ETMC Foundation president, described the Foundation’s goal “to help create a medical school so that East Texas remains home for our students, and will help to retain them upon graduation. According to Swann, the new medical school will provide more educational opportunities, boost our economy, and most importantly improve the quality and access to healthcare for each and every one of us.”

At the announcement ceremony, Swann said, “It is our hope that acting in this bold manner will help create a leading medical school, world-class, second to none and one that will go head-to-head with any other top medical school, anywhere, for the people of East Texas.

Kevin Eltife, UT System Board of Regents Chairman, said, “it’s unprecedented in the state’s history to have this much money from the private sector. UT System Chancellor, James Milliken, called the gift transformational.

Board Members include Elam Swann, president, Paula Anthony, Paul Detwiler, M.D., Rocky Gill, Byron Hale, Julie Philley, M.D., Steve Roosth, Stephen Rydzak, M.D., Tom Woldert, and In Memoriam – Elmer Ellis.

East Texas Medical Center News & Events